Capturing Fashion #2

Trying to style someone who already has a very distinct and personal sense of style, was something I didn’t really think through. As I saw this woman coming from far away with a big bag and constantly wiping dripping sweat off of her forehead, I was reminded of those endless conversations where I kept randomly picking out closet staples and asking her whether she had another of those in a different, absurd colour.

This woman is a tall, dark, beautiful young woman I had the pleasure to meet during Apeejay Kolkata Literary Meet. She was not just a treat to look at but ended up being one of the most obedient people I have ever met. For the better part of a Sunday she decided to reserve her opinions completely like abruptly switching off neon light and sat there following each and every absurd idea I wanted her to implement.

Look 1

She was my doll and I was dolling her up. At least I was really trying my best to. The first look was something i was really confident about and secretly I knew she was not, at all. Who ever pairs a flared long skirt with a straight-fit kurta? honestly, the initial idea was a pencil skirt beneath but somehow I just because random and wanted her to try out this flared skirt instead. Do you want to see how it turned out? DSC_1526

The silver neck piece came out from her bag, adding just the right amount of accessory to her outfit. This might be a drab outfit to some, I am generally a very drab person. But, this outfit carries the elegance which Shubhanjana pulled off brilliantly. This look could work very well, for any party or gathering where the mother always asks us to wear something ‘appropriate for the occasion’ !

DSC_1482As she sat three on the stool with her white sneakers peeping out, that tall frame of hers just stood out. The straight fit kurta from Fabindia still looked straight and the kurta which is generally what I wear to every wedding miraculously fit her right!

DSC_1456 That was supposed to be the first look and I think she nailed it more than I did with the little styling that I was able to do. That silver choker like neck piece added a little more glam than I expected and my reward for the first outfit was as Shubhanjana suddenly smiled in between the shots saying “Damn man! this look really worked”.

 

Look 2

This was actually the third look as we shot it at the end. I had the idea right in my head but I remember asking her at the last moment ” tui saree porte parish toh?” Being the disgusting amateur stylish that I was, I didn’t know how I would drape a saree. The only thing I was really excited about was the makeup for which i almost had to do nothing on her face because well, she is flawless.

This look is my absolute favourite. I think, always shall be. The blouse was a crop top that Roshni had sent me pictures of. It had floral designs on it which were almost invisible on a white colour. I wanted her to wear a pinkish, violet saree on it and she looked ravishing in front of a white wall.

This saree was not worn in a natural way, I though the pallu or Aachol around the neck would perhaps look nice. I think, people with tall frames and long necks look really nice with the pallu encircled around the neck. Honestly, I am none of the two and it still worked for me when I wore it.DSC_1697Her skin colour almost looked like it was made for the saree. The off-shoulder and knot were improvisations later made, you know, like the ones which come to everyone’s minds as they look at each other! DSC_1719

Every morning, as I have to get ready to go out, unless there is something I have bought the previous day itself, it is always a struggle to choose attires. With all these styling ideas, almost crippling me, I am nothing better in choosing for myself the clothes I wish to wear.

Shubhanjana was a treat. It was all about a little over the top and regal for her. The attempt was trying to keep it more wearable and DSC_1740    those metallic heels along with the saree would never have been possible if she hadn’t gotten them from Ajio! I wish she had a smaller shoe size.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fashion and styling is perhaps very everyday. Not really as much of a task we kind of bring them down to be. It could be just adding in a little extra amount of pattern or colours which are a bit more risky into, outfits and attires.

 

P.S. See you soon with the next set of ravishing women who inspire me each time with their sense of style! also let me know how you like this!

Woman with elegance- Shubhanjana Das
Pictures taken by – Nikkon Balial

Leave a comment